Romantic Movie Countdown – Days 8 &7

The day totally got away from me and I completely forgot to post yesterday’s movie. Sorry about that you guys. The good news is that the reason I forgot was because I was busy making two new necklaces and a new bracelet for the store (more on that in my next post). And now, you get two movies today instead of one. So here we go.

Day 8 – The Story of Us. Not a lot of people know about this movie but not only is it one of my favorite romantic movies of all time, it is one of my favorite movies of all time. It is a Rob Reiner film, starring Bruce Willis and Michele Michelle Pfeiffer and it tells the story of a couple in crisis, not because of an affair or a tragedy or any one thing… just because of all the pressures of being married and living a life together. It really is an incredible movie with these flashbacks and  montages that show all the little moments (good and bad) that have brought  them to this moment when they are contemplating going their own ways. Rita Wilson, Rob Reiner and Paul Reiser are hilarious. And the soundtrack, done by Eric Clapton, is amazing.

This movie makes me laugh and it makes me cry and it helps me stay married when things are a little tense between my husband and I. I strongly recommend you check it out.

Day 7: Hope Floats – A great movie about picking yourself up and starting over. Sandra Bullock, one of the reigning queens of the romantic comedies, is wonderful in it and Harry Connick Jr. is sexy as hell. Plus I love anything with Gena Rowlands in it. ( If I get a choice, I want to be Gena Rowlands, Loretta Devine, or Bernadette Peters when I grow up).

Honorable mentions: My Life, and A Walk in the Clouds

So what do you guys think? Anyone else love The Story of Us as much as I do?

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Being Social and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

