Romantic Movie Countdown – Day 6

My pick for Day 6 of the countdown is a little bit of a cheat because it isn’t really a movie as much as it is  mini-series. Still the snow is coming down hard outside and I don’t think I will be setting foot outside at all this weekend and so I have lots of time to curl up on the couch and watch the entire B.B.C version of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice. There are film versions of the story but, as I have mentioned before, Colin Firth is and always will be my Mr. Darcy and Jennifer Ehle is, in my opinion, the perfect Elizabeth Bennett. In the book she is known for three characteristics: a lively sense of wit, an appreciation of the ridiculous, and a “fine pair of eyes.” Ms. Ehle has such expressive eyes, using them to convey a sense of unspoken amusement that I find utterly charming and totally perfect for Jane Austen’s most famous heroine.

In a (somewhat) related topic, I was talking about the countdown with my husband earlier in the week and it occurred to me that there is a little bit of a connection between Pride and Prejudice and my Day 11 pick, Beauty and the Beast. In both you have a spirited, intelligent young woman who both enjoy reading and who both turn down marriage proposals from eligible young men rather than end up with a boorish husband they do not respect. In both movies, our heroine encounters an arrogant gentleman / beast and they do not hit it off.  Still as they are forced to spend time together, she gets to know him better and realizes that there is more to him than meets the eye. They marry and live happily ever after.

I am not saying that P&P and B&tB are the same story. It’s just that I now realize why there is so much overlap between the two fandoms.

 

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Being Social and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

