Happy Birthday Alice Walker!

In honor of Alice Walker’s birthday, I am posting a book review I did for my personal blog, Celtic Knits, of her book of poetry Hard Times Require Furious Dancing.  (Isn’t that a fabulous title?!)

Hard Times Require Furious Dancing: New PoemsHard Times Require Furious Dancing: New Poems by Alice Walker

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Although I had read (and loved) The Color Purple, I never read any of Alice Walker’s poetry until I came upon Hard Times Require Furious Dancing in a local bookstore. I am a sucker for a good title and this one caught my eye. I was also intrigued by the beautiful illustrations on the cover and scattered throughout the book. Although, I do not have many poetry books in my personal library (although I am sure that is going to change in the near future*), I knew, after a quick skim of some of the poems, that I needed to bring this book home. I strongly recommend poems like: “We Pay a Visit to Those Who Play At Being Dead,” “Some Lovers,” “I Will Keep Broken Things,” and “Calling All Grand Mothers.” I personally enjoyed this collection very much and look forward to reading more of Alice’s poetry in the future.

View all my reviews

* I have added quite a few poetry books since the time this review was written but I am always looking for more so feel free to recommend your favorites!

I also wanted to share one of my favorite Alice Walker poems from this book:

I Will Not Deny

I will not deny
my lips
their smile
I will not deny
my heart
its sorrow
I will not deny
my eyes
their tears
I will not deny
my hair
the wildness
of my age

It is
profound
selfishness

I will deny
me nothing
of myself.

I don’t always live up to this poem but I really try to. What about you guys? What Alice Walker books / poems have you read and loved? Leave a suggestion or a comment and you may win this week’s social media giveaway!

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in This and That and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

