Romantic Movies Countdown – Get out the tissues

I know I have been remiss the past few days regarding the Romantic Movie Countdown. Sorry about that guys but Nemo hit my area pretty hard and being snowed in with the family and coordinating efforts to get us all dug out has taken up a bit of time.  I’ve heard that we may get hit with another storm or two (*whimper*) but for now things have normalized enough that I am back and ready to make it up to you with a bunch  of really great movies.

But first you may want to get out the tissues because I have an inexplicable fondness for movies that make cry and here are some of my favorites.

Day 4: P.S. I Love You – This is one of those where you cry and you laugh and sometimes, while trying to do both at the same time you turn a little blue because you cannot catch your breath. (See also Steel Magnolias). The supporting cast is great. Lisa Kudrow is in rare form as Holly’s best friend and Buffy fans get a chance  to see Spike – I mean James Marsters  again. It also doesn’t hurt that the movie features both Gerald Butler and Jeffrey Dean Morgan (or as he is known in my family – Denny. What can I say? We all love Grey’s Anatomy around here!) as sexy Irish boys with guitars.

Day 3: The Notebook –  As far as I am concerned, The Notebook is one of the world’s  perfect love stories.  It would have been a good love story even if it had just focused on  young Noah (played by an extremely yummy Ryan Gosling) and Allie (Rachel McAdams) whose love for each other must survive time, distance, social class, and James Marsden (playing yet another role where, although you feel kinda  bad about it, you still really hope he doesn’t end up with the girl. See also: X-Men, Enchanted). But for me, what makes it great is the image of James Garner reading their story to Gena Rowlands. When I think of enduring love and devotion, this is what comes to mind. The ending of the film is very different from the book (and because of that denies us the opportunity for a movie version of the sequel, The Wedding) but I really don’t mind as much as I normally would. It’s just that beautiful. *sniff*

(BTW, in case you prefer your Ryan Gosling with a little more humor, I recommend Lars and the Real Girl – the movie where he learned to knit! – or  Crazy, Stupid, Love)

Day 2: Shakespeare in Love: At this point, we all probably need a little bit of a pick me up to help us recover from all the tear-jerkers and so I picked Shakespeare in Love as my Day 8 movie. If you are a Shakespeare fan, there is so much to love about this movie. Geoffrey Rush, Ben Affleck, and Judi Dench (playing Elizabeth I) are all hilarious and I love looking out for all the little shout outs and references to various Shakespearean plays. (As an added bonus, this film inspired this – which as the wife of a Star Wars loving geek I truly find hilarious.

For more Shakespearean romantic comedies, I also recommend: A Midsummer Night’s Dream (Stanley Tucci makes an expectantly charming Puck),  Much Ado About Nothing (Kenneth Branagh and Emma Thompson are my quintessential Benedict and Beatrice, although I really can’t wait to see what Joss Whedon has done with this story), and Letters to Juliet

Well, I think that gets me all caught up. What do you guys think? Are you fans of a good sobfest or do you prefer to keep to lighthearted rom-coms? I would love to hear what you think!

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Being Social and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

