Getting Ready for St. Patrick’s Day

O'Shea3I don’t know if I have mentioned this before but I have a fascination  with Celtic history, music, folklore, and culture. My grandfather, John O’Shea,  was the son of two Irish immigrants and he shared his love and pride of his Irish heritage with me.  Because of Poppop (as I called him), I love reading about Irish mythology (like in the Morgan Llywelyn books that he introduced me to),  I enjoy listening to Irish music (and hanging out with Irish musicians) and going to Renaissance Faires so much. This is also why I use Ciarrai (the Gaelic version of my name, Kerry) here and in my shop name.

So as you can probably guess, St. Patrick’s Day is a big deal to me. I couldn’t let the day go by without making something to commemorate it, which brings me to two new pieces:

Celtic Charm NecklaceThe Celtic Knot Charm Necklace – a sweet and lovely way to celebrate your Irish heritage with an emerald green Swarovski crystal and two little Celtic knot charms on a 22k gold-plated gold chain. (What I love about this piece is just how dainty and feminine it is. You can still be wearing the green for St. Patrick’s Day (or any day really) without going overboard)

When Irish Eyes are Smiling Charm necklaceand the When Irish Eyes Were Smiling Charm Necklace: featuring a handmade sheet music charm with notes and lyrics to “When Irish Eyes are Smiling.” When I think of St. Patrick’s Day, I think of all the great Irish folk songs, songs like Oh Danny Boy and  Irish Lullaby,   which my grandfather used to sing to me when I was little. e when I was growing up.  (I tear up every time I hear it, thinking of him and how much I miss him). This charm necklace (hopefully, the first in a new series) celebrates that beautiful music that I grew up listening to .

Both the Celtic Knot Charm Necklace and the When Irish Eyes Were Smiling Charm Necklace would be a perfect accessory for any Irish lass this St. Patrick’s Day and are available for you to purchase on my Etsy shop, Ciarrai Studios.

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Announcements and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

