Poem – A – Day: April 17th: Kite Flying

Today is my husband’s birthday. He really enjoys flying kites and since today was a beautiful day, we decided to spend part of the afternoon flying kites at the local maritime museum. We will be back there on Sunday (weather permitting) with the entire family. The nieces and nephews really enjoy flying kites with Uncle Rob and it’s a nice low-key way for the family to celebrate Rob’s birthday. But today was a nice opportunity for quite and relaxation. I wandered around with my camera while Rob flew his kite. As I was watching him, this poem came to me:

Kite Flying
By Kerry Gauthier

Once unfurled, the kite begins to tremble in the wind
Like an eager puppy who has heard the word “walk” uttered in the hall.
It bounds into the sky, tugging on its leash,
Darting here and there as it chases errant breezes
And wags its brightly-colored tail at passing birds.

I know it isn’t anything even close to Edna St. Vincent Millay or Robert Frost or John Keats but since it captured a little bit of Rob’s birthday, I decided that it was appropriate as the poem of the day for his birthday.

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Being Social and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Poem – A – Day: April 17th: Kite Flying

  1. yourothermotherhere says:

    I like it!

  2. Ciarrai says:

    Thanks. It’s pretty simply but it made me smile so I thought I would share it.

Leave a Reply

