Poem – A – Day: April 18th: The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock

It’s not hard to see that I am utterly obsessed with T. S. Eliot’s “The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock.” Even if you are new to my blog and haven’t read all the things that I have written about it, all you would have to do is look at this, thisthis, this, this, and this and you would  begin to detect a little bit of a trend.

So when I started posting a poem a day in honor of National Poetry Month, it was really only a matter of time before dear old Prufrock made an appearance. Today, after my photography class, Rob and I decided to stop by my favorite tea room (Robinson’s Tea Room in Stony Brook Village for those of you who are local or are planning on visiting Long Island, NY in the near future). Since I had my camera, I snapped a few shots. I really liked the way the kite photo and poem combination that I made earlier came out and when I saw this shot, I knew it was the right day to visit with Prufrock.

Prufrock-Porcelain

Here is a video of Eliot reading the poem (in a rather serious voice)

And here is a video of the poem set to music (so cool! I have to add this to my iPod!)

And if that wasn’t enough Prufrock-y goodness, I have an entire Pinterest board devoted to Prufrock. (See? I told you I was obsessed!)

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Being Social and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Poem – A – Day: April 18th: The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock

  1. ginapoet says:

    Very cool post! Love the combination of your comments, photography, and readings. A satisfying experience!

  2. Ciarrai says:

    Thanks. That;s very kind of you to say!

Leave a Reply

