Poem – A – Day: April 19th: Poems for Book Lovers

I don’t have any photos or videos or anything flashy to go along with today’s books but I am hoping that the sheer amount of poems I am posting will make it up to you.

There is no Frigate like a Book
By Emily Dickinson

There is no Frigate like a Book
To take us Lands away
Nor any Coursers like a Page
Of prancing Poetry –
This Traverse may the poorest take
Without oppress of Toll –
How frugal is the Chariot
That bears the Human Soul –

Where My Books Go
By William Butler Yeats

ALL the words that I utter,
And all the words that I write,
Must spread out their wings untiring,
And never rest in their flight,
Till they come where your sad, sad heart is,
And sing to you in the night,
Beyond where the waters are moving,
Storm-darken’d or starry bright.

Metamorphosis
By Billy Collins

If Kafka could turn a man into an insect in one sentence
Perhaps he could transform me into something new,
A slow willful river running through a forest,
Or simply the German word for river, a handful of letters
Hidden in the dark alphabetical order of a dictionary.

Not that I am so miserable, but I could use a change
of scenery and substance, plus the weather reminds me of him.
I imagine Kafka at his desk: the nib of his pen,
Like the beak of a bird, disturbs the surface of a pool of ink,
And he writes a sentence at the top of a page

Changing me into a goldfish or a lost mitten
Or a cord of split wood or the New York Public Library.
Ah, to awaken one morning as the New York Public Library.
I would pass the days observing old men in raincoats
As they mounted the ponderous steps between the lions

Carrying wild and scribbled notes inside their pockets.
I would feel the pages of books turning inside me like butterflies
I would stare over Fifth Avenue with a perfectly straight face.

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Being Social and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

