Happy Birthday William Shakespeare

Happy Birthday William Shakespeare! I wish I could spend the day in NYC at the Shakespeare Sonnet Slam but alas, it is not meant to be this year but that is no reason why I cannot celebrate the Bard from the comfort of my own home. First of all, I am all set to attend a tea party in Will’s honor with Bottom, Titania and her fairy court with my Midsummer Night’s Dream- themed charm necklace.

Secondly, I have spent part of the morning reading some of Will’s lovely poetry. Here is one of my favorites as today’s poem of the day:

When in disgrace with fortune and men’s eyes (Sonnet 29)
by William Shakespeare

When in disgrace with fortune and men’s eyes,
I all alone beweep my outcast state,
And trouble deaf heaven with my bootless cries,
And look upon myself and curse my fate,
wishing me like to one more rich in hope,
Featured like him, like him with friends possessed,
Desiring this man’s art, and that man’s scope,
With what I most enjoy contented least;
Yet in these thoughts myself almost despising,
Haply I think on thee–and then my state,
Like to the lark at break of day arising
From sullen earth sings hymns at heaven’s gate;
For thy sweet love remembered such wealth brings,
That then I scorn to change my state with kings.

I put together an Etsy treasury to mark the occasion:

‘Happy Birthday William Shakespeare!’ by CiarraiStudios


Art Doll William Shakes…

$43

Shakespeake’s Globe…

$25

William Shakespeare Wax…

$85

Literary Stage Play – S…

$40

A Midsummer Nights Drea…

$5

William Shakespeare Scr…

$19

Shakespeare Book Purse …

$48

Romeo and Juliet Book P…

$19.99

Romeo & Juliet Balcony …

$5

Sonnet 116 by W. Shakes…

$12

House Warming Gift Shak…

$24.75

Shakespeare Altered Boo…

$250

Fantastic Famous PUCK. …

$1.99

Hamlet Art Print – Shak…

$24.99

Shakespeare Love Greeti…

$4.5

A star danced William S…

$15

Treasury tool supported by the dog house

And I will probably spend at least part of the afternoon watching some of my favorite Shakespearean movies. Which one do you think I should choose? I am leaning towards the Kenneth Branagh production of Much Ado About Nothing but I would kill to be able to see the Joss Whedon version. Does anyone know when that is being released

How about you guys? How are you commemorating the birth of the bard?

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Being Social and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

