The Final Poem of National Poetry Month 2013

Hey guys! It is April 30th, which means that National Poetry Month is at an end and my Poem – a -Day posts are also coming to a close. I hope you have enjoyed my celebration of Poetry this past month.  If there were poems or poets you were hoping to see but didn’t, I am sorry about that. But leave a comment (here or on Facebook) letting me know what awesomeness I missed and I will definitely consider it for next April.

In the meanwhile, I am going to end the month as I began it… with a selection from the very first poet that I ever fell in love with, Shel Silverstein.

Hug O’War

I will not play at tug o’ war.
I’d rather play at hug o’ war,
Where everyone hugs
Instead of tugs,
Where everyone giggles
And rolls on the rug,
Where everyone kisses,
And everyone grins,
And everyone cuddles,
And everyone wins.

And with that, National Poetry Month is over but if you absolutely need more poetry in your life, please check out my etsy shop, Ciarrai Studios. I have several pieces inspired by some of the poems and poets that I shared with you this month, including Emily Dickinson, Pablo Neruda, John Keats, Lord Byron, and a whole lot of Prufrock.  Everything in the store is 25% off from now until May 6th and if you like Ciarrai Studios’ Facebook page, you get an additional 5% off.

Well that’s it for me. Have a good evening and I will talk to you again soon!

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Being Social and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

