Play Ball!

I am not a big athlete. I am fairly uncoordinated and as a kid I had to be forced to put down the book I was reading and go outside and play (and even then, I usually just found a shady place to read outside!) But one of the few sports I have always enjoyed (both playing and watching) is Baseball. I don’t follow any of the Major League teams, preferring to go to local Long Island Ducks games rather than hiking out to a big stadium (although – as a New Yorker, I will root for either the Yankees or the Mets if I get to go to a major ballgame). I prefer a more hometown kinda feel to my baseball – the kind of thing where you can see a bunch of guys, not in a stadium but a field somewhere, playing for the fun of it while the crowd sits watching from bleachers. It’s the reason I love going to Old Bethpage Village Restoration and watching the historic base ball teams play (which they are scheduled to do most Sundays this summer – just in case you are local and interested)

It is also the reason why I love the movie Field of Dreams and the book that it is based off of, Shoeless Joe by W. P. Kinsella. (In fact, Rob and I are considering a re-read of Shoeless Joe as our next read-aloud book now that we are done with To Kill a Mockingbird).  The reason I mention all this is that now that baseball season in full swing (if you will pardon the pun), I decided that it was time to add a Shoeless Joe piece to the shop and here it is:

Field of Dreams / Shoeless Joe Baseball Charm Necklace

The Field of Dreams / Shoeless Joe Baseball charm necklace features: silver charms of a baseball bat, glove and ball, and a handmade resin charm with text from the book that includes the famous line “If you build it, he will come,” and is available here in my Etsy shop, Ciarrai Studios.  

To celebrate both my love of Baseball and the introduction of this new design, I put together an Etsy treasury of great Baseball-themed items. Enjoy!

‘Take me out to the ball game’ by CiarraiStudios

My tribute to the great American past time!


Vintage Baseball in Cat…

$20

Baseball Stitching Macr…

$25

Vintage Baseballs Perso…

$35

Vintage Base Ball Photo…

$20

Baseball Art Brother sp…

$20

Baseball Boy Print

$65

Baseball Art – 8×10 (10…

$18

Patriotic Red White and…

$350

Baseball Close Up in th…

$30

Field of Dreams / Shoel…

$26

Burlap Baseball Love Wr…

$48

THE ORIGINAL Baseball B…

$15

Men playing baseball, y…

$35

Vintage baseball player…

$18

New York Yankees Seats …

$35

Baseball Wooden Bookend…

$45

Treasury tool supported by the dog house

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Announcements and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

