Knitterly Advice Needed

I have been the worst blogger late! There has been so much going on recently that I have next to no time to write about it. (Although to be fair, I have been managing to update the Ciarrai Studios Facebook page fairly frequently so I haven’t completely fallen down on the job.  And I did manage to put together this spiffy new header with my brand new logo. What do you guys think?). Anyway, I promise that tomorrow I will write up a nice long post about all the exciting Ciarrai Studios happenings that have been going on.  But now it is 1 am and I definitely want to get some sleep soon. But before I go to bed, I wanted to ask you for some help.

This lovely lady is my sister, Ginger.

DSC_0022b&w

Ginger is expecting a baby in November. We are all super excited (above and beyond the usual excitement that comes with a new baby) because Ginger’s baby will be the first grandchild in our branch of the family and, as we learned a few days ago, he will also be the first boy of his generation (my cousins’ babies, so far, have all been girls).

Auntie Kerry has fallen so far behind with everything going on that I haven’t even started my new nephew’s baby blanket. I have the yarn picked out (if not the color), this Baby Merino Silk DK yarn by Rowan (A machine washable silk merino blend! Be still my heart!!) but I still haven’t figured out what pattern I want to knit. I may attempt to design something myself like I have done in the past with some success.

My favorite improvised blanket was this Cottage in the Woods blanket that I made for a friend’s daughter. The general premise was that it was the house from the story, Goldilocks and the Three bears. I paired it with three teddy bears and a book with the story.

Blanket Overview

But I haven’t decided if I want to make something up or if there is a pattern already in existence that seems right for this very special baby.

I am expecting things to settle down in the next couple of weeks and once it does, I will finally have time to knit again! And so, if any of you reading this are knitters, help me out. Do any of you know of an extra special baby blanket pattern that you can recommend? If so, leave a comment and let me know.

And with that said, I am off to bed. Talk to you all tomorrow!

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

