Book Review: The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

The Ocean at the End of the LaneThe Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

After a crazy past few weeks, I gave myself a day off to rest and recharge and I decided to spend it reading Neil Gaiman’s The Ocean at the End of the Lane. It was a good decision. I enjoyed the book, which had enough of the Gaiman style and flair that I literally heard Neil’s voice narrating in my head as I read it, but it wasn’t so ambitious that I had to put any real effort into enjoying it. Overall, it was closer to The Graveyard Book than to American Gods in the spectrum of Neil’s work. (Not that I don’t love American Gods and not that I don’t enjoy a book that makes you work for it but in my present state of mind, I was more than happy to read something a bit more accessible).

All in all, it reminded me of Peter Beagle’s Tamsin, which is one of my favorite books by one my all favorite authors (whose voice, incidentally, I also hear narrating in my head whenever I read something of his).

I don’t think The Ocean at the End of the Lane will go down in history as the best book Neil Gaiman has ever written but it was a quick, interesting read and exactly what I needed at the moment.

View all my reviews

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Being Social, Blog Posts, Books and Literature and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

