Jane Austen Events (or Jane Austen Month: Part II)

While I was planning the Jane Austen tea party, I was also preparing for two Jane Austen events, the Jane Austen Festival in Louisville, KY and the JASNA-CT’s  Jane Austen Summer Camp in Middletown, CT.

The KY Festival was this past weekend and from all the posts and photos on Twitter and Facebook, it was a lovely event. I was so disappointed not to be able to attend myself, but Julia of Bingley’s Teas Ltd. agreed to sell my Tea at Pemberley, Tea with Captain Wentworth, and Tea with the Dashwoods necklaces in her brand new tent at the festival.

I am anxiously waiting to hear how things went but I am trying to be patient, especially since Julia is traveling back from the festival today. This is a bit of a challenge because A) I am not an especially patient person and B) I am particularly excited about all of  this because this is the first time that my jewelry has ever been sold at a live event! I have been trying to distract myself from thinking about it too much (because of a real tendency to obsess) but for some reason, writing up a blog post isn’t doing much to distract me. I wonder why.

Cropped-jane-summer-camp The second event, the Jane Austen Summer Camp, is planned for this upcoming weekend. Being so close to home, I was really hoping that I would be able to attend this event. Even when I realized that I couldn’t attend the entire conference, I was really excited at the thought of attending the Jane Austen Ball on Saturday evening but, alas, it was not meant to be and I will be missing out on all the fun yet again.

For a couple of days, my conversation had a distinctly Sondheim – esque quality to it.  (“I wish I could go to the festival and the ball!”). Still, for all that I won’t be there, my “Tea with Jane Austen” necklaces will be available in the conference gift shop, as will the Captain Wentworth Love Letter Necklace

Wentworth-Letter-Necklace-DSC_0310

Wentworth-Letter-and-Envelope-Cropped

The Wentworth Love Letter Necklace comes with a decorative print of the Captain’s letter to Anne Eliot, hand-sealed with a wax seal. I never really had a good photo of the letter so, with the conference coming up, I took some time to do a photo shoot.

I also designed a brand new necklace, exclusively for the conference auction. It is inspired by Mr. Darcy’s unforgettable proposal in Pride and Prejudice and I call it Mr. Darcy’s Heart.

Mr-Darcys-Heart-DSC_0395

I am very pleased with how Mr. Darcy’s Heart came out and I will be adding to the shop after the conference is over.

Anyway, now that all of the pieces for both events are made and sent, I can take a bit of a break from being all-Jane-all-the-time. I have never had to prepare for a live event before so there was a bit of a learning curve on how to do it properly and having two events so close together made things a bit intense for a couple of weeks. I am so incredibly grateful to be a part of both the Jane Austen Festival and the Summer Camp conference but it is nice to be able to relax a bit now that everything is done.

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Behind the Scenes, Being Social, Blog Posts, Books and Literature and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

