Women’s EXPO Excitement

This month, life has been all about getting ready for the upcoming Women’s EXPO. I was already super excited to be attending my first live event but then I found out that I was selected to be one of four vendors featured in a local newspaper article about the EXPO and my excitement went through the roof! The only catch was that I had to put together a mini display (sort of a sneak preview of what I would have at the EXPO) so it could be photographed for the article and I only have two days to do it!  (Ack!)

Although, the past couple of weeks have been filled with making plans about which pieces to bring and how to display them, I hadn’t actually implemented many of those plans yet since the EXPO was still a few weeks away. And with this being my first event, I didn’t have a display worked out from a past event that I could use. So I spent a rather frantic two days putting something together.

I wanted something that would set the tone and give people a sense of what they would see at my table. One of my issues is that charm necklaces are somewhat small so they don’t really pull people in from a distance. I came up with the idea of using decorative book boxes to create displays that would showcase my work in a way to attract people to my table.

These book boxes are great! They come in a lot of different designs and sizes and are easily found at book stores, craft stores and here on Amazon. What I love about them is that I get the look of beautiful, decorative books without the weight of them, something I am sure I will appreciate when lugging a ton of stuff to and from an event, and, even better, the actual books in my library don’t get beaten up by being used as props in my display. As an added bonus, they can be used to store the odds and ends that you need at a show and can be used as lifts and levels to vary the height of different items in the display!

Book-DisplayThe only problem was that the beautiful designs on the covers are a bit busy and much too distracting to really showcase my jewelry but Rob and I used mat board to create a “blank page” insert that was just perfect! I made up “bookplates” with information about each necklace and attached them to the inside cover of the book and I had some displays that I was really happy with.

I used the book boxes to display three of my Reading Tea Leaves Charm Necklaces:

And then I filled in with a couple of my literary love letter charm necklaces and some of my literary pendant necklaces and I was ready to go!

Here’s a photo of me with my full display:

Expo Kerry Gauthier

I am normally really camera shy but I am so proud of my table layout that I am trying to ignore the fact that I am in the photo!

I got to meet some lovely ladies, including two of the EXPO organizers and three of my fellow vendors. Here’s a group shot of all of us:

Expo Group

It was so wonderful getting to chat with fellow craftswomen and see their incredible work! I am hoping that I can sneak away from table on the day of the EXPO long enough to pick up a few items myself. I totally fell in love with some gorgeous crocheted children’s hats with the most gorgeous embellishments by Fascination Baby and I also want to make sure that I get a creamsicle soap pop by Maya India Spa. It smelled amazing and looked good enough to eat!

We also recorded short videos of each of us talking about our work and why we were participating in the EXPO. Again, I am not the most comfortable person in front of a camera (that’s what happens when you are the kind of person who is happily curled up in a corner reading a book) but I think my video came out alright.

I wanted to embed the video into this post but it’s not working out for some reason. Sorry about that. If you are curious, you can see it on the Ciarrai Studios Facebook Page.

Today, I was interviews by Donna Newman of the Times Beacon for the article and had a great time talking about everything from the books I love to the people in my life who have inspired me to create Ciarrai Studios. I really can’t wait to see the article!

I will try to post again soon  but if it’s a little quiet in here for a couple of weeks, know that it is because I am hard at work getting ready for this wonderful event.

In the meanwhile, please visit my shop at www.etsy.com/shop/ciarraistudios and I hope to see you at the EXPO on October 3rd!

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Being Social, Blog Posts, Events and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Women’s EXPO Excitement

  1. I am loving those book boxes. Your table looks GREAT! I’m really camera shy too, so congrats to you for getting in there and showing off your work (you look fabulous!). The Women’s EXPO sounds like a really wonderful event. I hope to see another post coming soon (from the actual event itself – Yay!).
    ~Kim
    Visiting from Blogging Buddies

    • Ciarrai says:

      Thanks Kim! The EXPO is a couple of weeks off so you will probably see a couple of posts about other things while I am getting ready but I hope to have a big event write up with lots of pictures after the show!

  2. D says:

    Visiting from Ravelry.
    Love your table set up, you should be proud! Good Luck w/ the expo!

    • Ciarrai says:

      Thanks! I am definitely proud of the mini table layout! Now I just need to figure out how to expand it to a full table display and still keep the bookish charm!

Leave a Reply

