My Day at the Women’s EXPO

This past Thursday was the Women’s EXPO. After a lot of work, planning, and last minute scrambling, I was really excited once the actual day arrived. We had some minor hiccups (like our new banner not arriving until halfway through the day) but overall it was a great experience. The EXPO staff and volunteers were simply wonderful and made my first event such a positive experience. I really cannot thank them enough for all their help and support! And I really have to send a great big thank you to my aunts and my niece for all their help and to my husband, who made me the best display pieces for my table!

I have to say that the best part of the day was getting to meet everyone who stopped by the table.  With most of my business online, I don’t always have an opportunity to talk to my customers. At the EXPO, I had so many lovely chats with fellow book and poetry lovers about our favorite books, authors, poems, and poets, which I just adored.

And, on the brief moments where I could sneak away from my table, I really enjoyed stopping by some of the other tables nearby. I picked up a stunning hat for my god-daughter’s upcoming birthday at the Fascination Baby table and found a recipe packet for Apple Cinnamon scones at one of the tea vendors that I cannot wait to try out!

I am already planning on how to make my next EXPO even better. I know that I want to make more time for me to wander around the expo myself and that when I do, I should bring my camera so I can capture what a great event it is. I also know that I want to ask someone else to be responsible for taking pictures back at my own table. I got a couple of shots early on when we first set up but as things got busier, I didn’t get a chance to capture it on film.

Still, I did get some shots, and this being just my first event, I am sure that I will have more opportunities in the future to take photos.

Our Table

The Ciarrai Studios table at the EXPO – before our new banner arrived.

Book and Tea Charm Necklace Display

Close up of our display of Book and Tea themed charm necklaces

Tea and Coffee Themed Jewelry and Notecards

A selection of tea and coffee themed items at our table.

DSC_0147

I was so happy with the idea to display our teacup rings in a teacup!

DSC_0029

A selection of poetry pendants and love letter charm necklaces.

Card Catalog Display

This vintage card catalog drawer looked adorable in my display. You can also see many of my literary pendants hanging over it.

Lace Vampire Bat Necklaces

Just in time for Halloween, these vampire bat necklaces were inspired by Bram Stoker’s Dracula

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Blog Posts, Events and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Day at the Women’s EXPO

  1. Pingback: Literary Heroine Blog Party | Ciarrai Studios

  2. Pingback: Happy Anniversary Ciarrai Studios Literary Jewelry | Ciarrai Studios Literary Jewelry

Leave a Reply

