e. e. cummings Poems and the Hope of Spring

I love Etsy treasuries. I love making them and I love it when one of my pieces is featured in one. A treasury is just such a cool way of discovering little treats on Etsy that you may not have come across before. But I have another reason for loving them. Whenever  I make (or see) a treasury that has a literary theme, inevitably I discover some quote or reference that I don’t know and once I have looked it up, I find that I have a new poem that I love or a new must-read book!

Today, I had that experience when I was putting together this e. e. cummings themed treasury.


I Carry Your Heart, E E Cumm…

$30

Girl Silhouette Print: ‘He…

$18

e.e. cummings quote – the ea…

$24

I Carry Your Heart, Ring Bea…

$33

E.E. Cummings Sea Quote Over…

$100

Secret Heart Silk Wall Hangi…

$50

Nursery Decor, ee cummings, …

$15

Special Order Watercolor wit…

$15

Inspirational quote necklace…

$60

Courage Inspirational Card, …

$4.5

You Shall Above All Things B…

$5

Flip Chart Style Necklace – …

$75

Vinyl Wall Decal – The world…

$32

First Christmas Anniversary …

$29

E. E. Cummings Doll Miniatur…

$42

ee cummings quote, typograph…

$5

Sponsored by send bulk email from excel.

e. e. cummings poetry pendant - i carry your heart with me (i carry it in my heart)

Ciarrai Studios’ e. e. cummings poetry pendant

It isn’t my first cummings – themed treasury. I had a lot of fun putting one togetherinspired by the poem, Maggy and Milly and Molly and May, but this time I wanted  to branch out beyond just one poem.

I had my pick of wonderful items with quotes from the poem, i carry your heart with me (i carry it in my heart).  I am particularly fond of this new print by Sargent Illustration,  and of course I am partial to this my own e. e. cummings poetry pendant. But I also wanted to find some not – so – popular quotes to feature in my treasury so I was thrilled when I found a decal that says: “The world is mud-lucious and puddle wonderful!” which led me to discover (and fall in love with) this poem.

I think what is really speaking to me about it is that I am really suffering from winter fatigue. As I speak there are piles of ice and snow outside my window that are depressingly high and we are expecting another storm next week.

But when Spring thaw comes, all of this will melt and soften. Instead of hard, scratching, hacking sounds of dealing with ice and snow, there will be the flow of water as the runoff  from melted snow flows down the curb of my street.  The ground will be soft and mushy and mud – lucious. April showers – with the music of raindrops hitting my window – will replace February blizzards. The world will start to turn green and brown instead of white and grey and little kids will laugh splash through a puddle wonderful world.

This poem gives me something to hold on through the last bitter weeks of winter and for that, Mr. Cummings, you have my most sincere thanks.

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to e. e. cummings Poems and the Hope of Spring

  1. Pingback: It’s been a very e. e. cummings sort of day | Ciarrai Studios

  2. Such a lovely treasury. I really like that flip chart style necklace. Great finds!
    Visiting from Blogging Buddies,
    Kim

Leave a Reply

