Dreaming of Green Gables

Anne ShirleyThis week, it’s all about Anne of Green Gables series by Lucy Maud Montgomery here at Ciarrai Studios. I know I am not alone in this, but Anne Shirley is the fictional BFF that I always wished I knew in real life and if I could only read one author’s books for the rest of my life, I would definitely pick Lucy Maud Montgomery. As much as I love authors like Jane Austen and the Bronte sisters, and even though there have been books – like Little Women –  that have had tremendous impact and importance in my life, there is something about the blend of the poetic and prosaic that I really love about the Anne books (and, in fact many of Lucy Maud Montgomery’s books).

There have been lots of books written for young girls in which an “irrepressible” heroine transform the crusty old (fill in the blank here) with love and her sunny outlook on life. But what keeps Anne Shirley from falling into the same old troupe (or veering too far into Pollyanna saccharine -ness) is that Montgomery never loses sight of the humor (and sometimes ridiculousness) of Anne’s over-developed sense of romance and drama. And the fact that Montgomery also portrays the beauty, romance, pathos, and joy that can be found in ordinary people and situations provides a balance to the book and a leavening to Anne  herself which keeps her from being too much of an early example of the “manic pixie dream girl.” As Anne grows and develops, her challenge is to find a way to be balance her flights of fancy with real life in a way that embraces the best in both and that is something I can really identify with!

I feel such a kinship to Anne that I would love to slip into the books and live in Avonlea! In fact, my middle name is Anne (spelled with an E) and I often joke that I want to run away to Prince Edward Island and be Kerry Anne of Green Gables! But since that is probably not going to happen, I content myself with reading – and finding inspiration in – these wonderful books!

This week I am offering a 10% discount on all of the Anne of Green Gables  – inspired jewelry in my Etsy shop, Ciarrai Studios.

Ciarrai Studios Anne of Green Gables Jewelry Sale FB2

I am also going to be sharing some of my favorite Lucy Maud Montgomery quotes over the course of the week.  Be sure to check back here for all of the wonderful Anne of Green Gables fun. And if you are a fellow Green Gables fan and have a favorite quote or passage, please feel free to share it in the comments!

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Blog Posts, Books and Literature and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dreaming of Green Gables

  1. Pingback: The White Way of Delight – Anne Shirley and the Power of Names | Ciarrai Studios Literary Jewelry

Leave a Reply

