Anne of Green Gables and Simple Pleasures

AoGG Nicest and Sweetest Days

When I went looking to compile a list of my favorite Anne of Green Gables quotes, this one jumped out at me. I have always loved the sentiment and the lovely imagery but when I read it this time, it reminded me of something that happened to me recently.

I was at Barnes and Nobles, camped out on the floor in the poetry aisle sorting through the books to try and decide which one(s) I wanted to buy. There was a good song playing on the P.A. system – if I am remembering correctly it was Mumford & Sons but it could have been the Lumineers  – and I was singing along and drumming my fingers on top of the pile of books I had made while flipping through one of the books. At one point I looked up and saw this couple standing at the edge of the aisle and I heard the guy say to the girl he was with, “Wow! Someone is having a great time!”

And the thing that makes me remember this incident so clearly is that I actually looked around to see who he was talking about. It seriously took me a moment to realize that I was the one whose happiness was so obvious that it invited comment because  – although I was having a great time and was probably having one of the happiest moments I had had all winter – I hadn’t stopped to realize that I was happy. And it occurred to me that maybe the secret of happiness was to learn to take a moment t0 recognize the moments when you are happy.  As I settled back into checking out books and enjoying the music – tapping out a drum solo on top of a copy of Whitman’s Leaves of Grass – I promised myself that I would make the effort to recognize positive things as they were happening and to try to appreciate the pearls of simple pleasures before they slipped away.

What simple pleasures have made you smile recently? Leave a comment and let me know. It would make my day!

Kindred Spirit Ring Sale ReminderAnd for more bookish goodies, please visit Ciarrai Studios on:
ETSY  / FACEBOOK / TWITTER / TUMBLR / PINTEREST

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Blog Posts, Books and Literature and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

