Looking for Kindred Spirits

Kindred Spirits Anne of Green Gables QuoteLike Anne Shirley, I am always on the look out for kindred spirits and I love meeting new people and making new friends.  So I would like to take this moment to introduce myself, in the hopes that someone out there might think that I am a kindred spirit too and someone they might  want to strike up a conversation with.

My name is Kerry but online I go by Ciarrai, (pronounced Kira), which is the Gaelic spelling of my name.  I am a tea-sipping, yarn-knitting, book and poetry – obsessed New Yorker who designs and makes literary jewelry which I sell in my Etsy shop, Ciarrai Studios.

I love Jane Austen books, Anne of Green Gables (or anything written by Lucy Maud Montgomery), and Peter Beagle’s The Last Unicorn. My love of poetry, Celtic mythology, and fairy tales has resulted in a massive literary crush on W. B. Yeats and I have an obsession with T. S. Eliot’s “The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock” that will most likely require the intervention of some sort of twelve step program.

When not reading or creating pretty things, I like to spoil my nieces and nephews, play board games, go to Renaissance Faires, museums, concerts and plays. I spend an outrageous amount of time breaking out in songs from Broadway shows – as we speak, I have Getting to Know You from the King and I stuck in my head – and watching an excessive amount of British television (Doctor Who, Sherlock, Downton Abbey, etc.),

I am romantic and dramatic and imaginative but have trouble expressing that in real life – other than in the jewelry I create – because I am rather socially awkward and a little shy. I like to think that I am witty and funny but mostly I come across as a geek with an unfortunate fondness for puns and quotes from The Princess Bride, Monty Python and the Search for the Holy Grail, and/or Dead Poet Society.

I really hope that you like what you read and that you will consider following me here on WordPress (or on Facebook, Tumblr, or Twitter). But most of all, I hope that any kindred spirits reading this will leave a comment, introducing themselves so I can get to know you too.

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Looking for Kindred Spirits

  1. Mechelle says:

    Hi Ciarrai! My name is Mechelle. I am a graphic designer and artist. I create painting, clocks, art blocks and a few other accessories. So glad to meet you!

  2. Well thanks! Now that tune will be with me for the rest of the day. I don’t mind too much though, as the last one was getting a bit old 😉

  3. Ciarrai says:

    It’s ok. Not everyone is as obsessed with showtunes as I am. I am glad that you liked the post and would love it if you visited again!

  4. Allison says:

    Hi Ciarrai! I just ♥’d your Etsy shop. Really great stuff! I’m a big show tune fan myself. I just saw the tour of Chicago a few weeks ago, but would rather have seen it (or something else!) in NYC.

    • Ciarrai says:

      Hi Allison! Welcome! Thanks for your kind words about my shop. I just took a peek at your site and I love it too. Such great attitude and sass!

      I am really lucky to live so close to Broadway that I can see shows pretty often. Still I haven’t managed to see Chicago live yet. I bet it is amazing in person!

      Right now, I am hoping to catch the upcoming revival of Cabaret with Alan Cummings reviving his role as emcee. My husband and I caught his one man show of MacBeth and it was amazing and since I have never seen Cabaret before it seems like a good time to correct that oversight.

    • Ciarrai says:

      Welcome April! I was looking at your site and I see that you are from NY too. What part? If I had to guess from the lovely photos in your gallery, I would say upstate but I could be wrong. I am down on Long Island so it is nice to meet a fellow New Yorker.

      I really enjoyed your Photographers on Etsy series. Do you have any plans to feature a portrait photographer or one who does Macro photography in the future?

  5. Katie says:

    Hi there! Nice to meet ya! Found you on Etsy.. adore your shop 🙂

    • Ciarrai says:

      Nice to meet you too Katie. Thank you for your kind words about my shop! I just took a peek at yours and I adore your cards with the wonderful bots on them! So cute!

Leave a Reply

