Blog Party Book Club – What Should We Read First

So last week, I asked if anyone wanted to participate in a Blog Party Style Virtual Book Club and a bunch of people liked the idea so we are all set to go.  Now all we have to do is decide what book to read first.

I’ve been meaning to read some Arthur Conan Doyle and with the popularity of shows like Sherlock and Elementary, I thought The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes might be fun. But I would like to get some other ideas and put up a poll so we end up with a book that everyone wants to read.

So if you want to be a part of the book club and have a suggestion for what book to start with, please let me know and I will add it to the list of option to be voted on. It can be a book you have been meaning to read or one of your favorites that you just love talking about. It’s up to you!

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Blog Posts, Books and Literature and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Blog Party Book Club – What Should We Read First

  1. I am game for this one as I have just gotten caught up with the BBC Sherlock recently.

  2. Ciarrai says:

    I still have the last season to go but I have been enjoying the show so far. Between this, Doctor Who, Downtown Abbey, Call the Midwife, and miniseries of Jane Austen novels, I spend an outrageous amount of time on British television! It would be good to get some of that time back for more reading. (Not that I don’t do an outrageous amount of that too but still)

  3. jessierae26 says:

    I just finished up Sherlock Holmes for my other book club. But the stories I chose were a hodgepodge read in chronological order is regards to Holmes, so I’d be game reading all the stories in The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes. I’ve also been in a mood to read Aldous Huxley’s Brave New World or Anthony Burgess’ A Clockwork Orange. Not sure what that says about my current mindset but there it is. 🙂

    • Ciarrai says:

      Great suggestions. I will add them to the list of options for the poll and we will see if anyone else is in a dystopian frame of mind or if the game is afoot with Mr. Holmes.

Leave a Reply

