The Blog Party Book Club Reads The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes

BPBC Sherlock

UPDATE: We have extended our read of The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes so there is plenty of time for you to join in the fun. The new deadline for finishing the book is June 2nd!

The game is afoot! We are kicking off the first Blog Party Book Club Discussion with The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. I got a lot of great feedback and comments about my idea to start an online book club and this book seemed to appeal to a lot of the folks who expressed an interest in participating. I purchased my copy through Amazon but you can also read it for free online here. We will officially start reading on April 7th but if you have a copy of the book already or are going to read online, feel free to jump right in. (I know I will be!). Right now, the plan is to give us a month to read the book – with an end date of May 5th June 2nd – but if it turns out that people want more time to read, just let me know and we can adjust the timing.

 

Here’s How it Works:

Step 1: Read the book.

Step 2: Towards the end of the month, I will post some discussion questions for us to answer about the book.

Step 3: When you are done reading, post your answers to the questions (as well as any other thoughts or comments you have about the book) on your blog, website, Tumblr, Goodreads account, etc.

Step 4: Come back here and share the link to your post.

Step 5: Check out the links other book lovers have shared, read and comment on their posts for great discussions and debates about the book.

Step 6: Help us pick a new book and repeat.

You can also:

Introduce yourself in the comments and share the links to your blog / website / social media sites so we can all start getting to know each other.

Sign up for the Blog Party Book Club Mailing List to get updates and reminders.

Share thoughts or comments during the month, instead of waiting until the questions are posted. Leave a comment here or use #BPBC to mark your post on Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr, etc. so we can see and comment on your post.

Share cool Sherlock swag, videos, humor, articles, art, etc. in the Blog Party Book Club Pinterest board. (Email me to be added to the board).

Invite a friend to join us.

Make a suggestion for our next book.

I am really excited about this because other than reading A Scandal in Bohemia in a recent college class, and an obsession with the BBC show, Sherlock,  I don’t have a lot of history with Sherlock Holmes or Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and I am looking forward to changing that. I hope you are as excited as I am and that you will join in all the fun!

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Blog Party Book Club, Books and Literature and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Blog Party Book Club Reads The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes

  1. Ciarrai says:

    Want to join this month’s discussion? Leave a comment and introduce yourself!

  2. Hi! My name is Pam and I am the go-to gal for WiReD Boutique Jewelry. I live to read ~ anything & everything! I used to teach 5th grade & love learning myself. I’m so excited to be a part of this book club!

Leave a Reply

