Dreaming of the Field of Dreams

I recently finished a re-read of W. P. Kinsella’s Shoeless Joe, which was the inspiration for the film, Field of Dreams. I have always loved both the book and the movie and I tend to pull out the book when I am looking for a relaxed summertime read. This time around, I was struck by the combination of lyrical – almost poetic – writing, mixed with homey, everyday things like home and land, baseball and family. It’s such a perfect storm of language and subject that is guaranteed to get me every time.

There is only one other book that has ever struck me quite the same way and that is Pat Conroy’s Prince of Tides. While I have to admit that Prince of Tides is much darker than Fields of Dreams is and despite the fact that the Wingos and the Kinsellas live in very different environments, there is a fierce love of both language and land that I think would bridge the two families together in some sort of understanding.

Field of Dreams Charm NecklaceInspired by both the book and the film, Field of Dreams, I designed this Field of Dreams baseball necklace.  It’s hard to keep in stock because it is one of the most popular pieces in my Etsy shop, but I am pleased to announce that, as of today,  it is back in stock and available to be purchased here: http://etsy.me/1xzfNGI

As it turns out, this is a particularly good time for the Field of Dreams necklace to be back because the film is celebrating its 25th Anniversary and the Field of Dreams Movie Site  – which still has the ball field and the corn field and everything just like you see in the movie and plays host to “ghost games” and other events – is having a big celebration!

From what I could see on the website, they are going to have ballgames and a showing of the movie. Kevin Costner and Timothy Busfield will both be there. The event looks so cool that I wish I go and check it out for myself.  Unfortunately, I will be in NY that weekend and can’t make it all the way to Iowa. I guess I will have to make due with a DVD of the field of dreams, a hotdog and some cracker jacks – or better yet, head down to my local ballpark and enjoy a game. Either way, at least I know the perfect necklace to wear!

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Blog Party Book Club, Books and Literature, Products and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

