Remembering Jane Austen

This past Friday was the anniversary of Jane Austen’s death. I was a bit distracted by celebrating an anniversary of my own – my 15th wedding anniversary – but I didn’t want the occasion to go completely unremarked.

What can I say about Jane that hasn’t been said before? There’s not much. Her enduring popularity has made it so that almost every detail of her life and every nuance of her writing has been examined and commented upon, again and again. But, when it comes down to it, I think the most enduring testimony to Jane’s work is how loved it still is and how it continues to inspire and draw people to it.

Marrying Mr. Darcy

Marrying Mr. Darcy Card Game – Available here: http://www.marryingmrdarcy.com/

As we speak, there is a huge Jane Austen festival going on in Louisville, KY. People in regency dress are celebrating Jane and her creations and this is just one event among many across the world. There are countless film and t.v. adaptations, huge monuments made of  Mr. Darcyintellectual debates crowning Jane as the “Queen of English Literature” and  highly entertaining card games inspired by her books.

Jane’s work is so beloved that modern day authors attempt to continue her stories or set their own works within the context of hers ( to varying degrees of success but still) and artists and companies, big and small, produce products made to appeal to her legions of fans.

Personally, I am partial to the Jane Austen jewelry that I make and sell in my Etsy shop, Ciarrai Studios.

Ciarrai Studios Jane Austen Jewelry Collage

And I cannot sufficiently tell you how ardently I admire and love my  Pride and Prejudice Book Purse from Novel Creations.

Jane Austen Purse by Novel Creations

But the truth universally acknowledged is that there are almost countless gorgeous Jane Austen inspired items to be found on Etsy alone, as you can see from the treasuries below.

I guess what I am saying – even if it has taken me quite a while to get here – is that it takes a singular person to inspire this much love and devotion and in recognition of this, I would like to raise my teacup in honor of Jane. Although we mark the anniversary of your death, Jane, you will forever live on in our hearts and on our bookshelves.

Jane Austen’ by CiarraiStudios –  A little something for Jane Austen fans of all ages.


Jane Austen Pillow of Hersel…

$17

Jane Austen book covers KNIT…

$40

Austen Novel Full Skirt

$45.99

Jane Austen – Pride and Prej…

$8

Jane Austen Banner Garland S…

$16.25

Jane Austen P&P teapot

$40

Jane Austen tea gift set

$16

Jane Austen Silhouette Cooki…

$7

Lizzie & Mr. Darcy – Embroid…

$6

You must allow me to tell yo…

$8.5

Jane Austen Persuasion Cuff …

$38

Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth Benn…

$80

Jane Austen Pride & Prejudic…

$29.99

IN STOCK Pride and Prejudice…

$19

SALE – Jane Austen Costume P…

$5

Jane AUSTEN Doctor Who TARDI…

$17.95

Powered By Handmadeology

“I could easily forgive his pride, if he had not mortified mine.” ― Jane Austen’

“In vain have I struggled. It will not do. My feelings will not be repressed. You must allow me to tell you how ardently I admire and love you.” —- Mr. Darcy


Jane Austen Frock

$225

Rustic Cottage Pink & Green …

$19.5

Jane Austen Quote Tenderness…

$12

Pair of Vintage Regency Bone…

$20

Before I Knew I Had Begun: …

$12

Feather Quill Pen: Peacock &…

$15

Vintage Art Nouveau Style Si…

$20

CUSTOM Regency 1800 Jane Aus…

$65

Traditional Mahogany Writing…

$900

Jane Austen quote necklace, …

$14

3D Lace Trim Pink Rose Grena…

$4.9

Jane Austen Quotes Bookmarks…

$6

Jane Austen, Sense and Sensi…

$45

Pride and Prejudice Mr. Darc…

$10

Jane Austen Christmas Card, …

$4.5

Bundle of Vintage Pride and …

$2

Powered By Handmadeology

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Blog Posts, Books and Literature, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Remembering Jane Austen

  1. ChrisTea (Christy) says:

    Happy Anniversary, Kerry! I hope you had a nice celebration – or are still looking forward to it! haha. Sending much happiness to you and hubby. {{{{hugs}}}}

Leave a Reply

