Weekend Reading and Summer Clearance

The weekend’s here, which means more time for reading! (Yay!) This past week, I have been working my way through Orlando by Virginia Woolf with occasional breaks to read

Looking back, I might want to pick something a little lighter for my next read but it has been an interesting break from my usual reading and has given me some ideas for some new literary jewelry designs. If the fates are kind and my camera cooperates, I should have a sneak peek or two over the weekend but we will see what happens.

Anne of Green Gables Sunbursts and Marble HallsSpeaking of new designs, I will be doing a refresh of my shop with new items, new packaging, new photos, and more.  In order to make room for new inventory, I am discontinuing some designs. I will also be tweaking a couple of other pieces to make them even better. And so I am having a SUMMER CLEARANCE SALE to move the last remaining stock of these older designs. Pieces like my Anne of Green Gables Pearl Drop Necklace, this Secret Garden Pendant, and the Tea with Miss Havisham charm necklace have been discounted by UP TO 40%!

Supplies are limited so get them while you can! Click here to shop the sale

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weekend Reading and Summer Clearance

  1. teabird says:

    Have you seen the film of “Orlando”? Tilda Swinton is perfect as Orlando, and Quentin Crisp was born to play Elizabeth – it’s a treat!

    • Ciarrai says:

      Thanks for the recommendation!

      I saw the trailer when someone included it in an article I was reading. It was actually the reason I decided on Orlando as my next Virginia Woolf novel. I had been waffling between To the Lighthouse, A Room of One’s Own and Orlando. I had all three in my hand at the bookstore but could only pick up one at the time. The trailer looked so interesting that Orlando won out and I am going to try and track down the film after I finish the book. I also want to check out some of Vita Sackville-West’s work, especially since she was a major inspiration for Orlando, the character, and her family history provided many elements for the book itself.

      Something similar happened when I saw The Hours. I had had Virginia Woolf on the to-read pile but the movie intrigued me so much that she moved up to the top of the list and I devoured Mrs. Dalloway. Now I am a fan and I am working my way through all of her work.

Leave a Reply

