Christmas In July

Right now, my AC is working full blast. I have a cold soda next to me. And everything I can possibly do to beat the heat, I am doing. The cat, with all his fur, looks like he might melt into the couch and I am thinking longingly of going to beach.  Summer is definitely here, and that means that I’ve got Christmas on my mind.

I know it is ridiculously early in the year for most people to even think about the holiday season but for people like me, who make and sell handmade goods, Christmas preparations are already in motion. My friends and family all roll their eyes whenever I mention this and complain about department stores that have their Christmas trees up before the first autumn leaf falls. “What’s the rush?” they ask? “Why can’t we just enjoy the moment we are in now without skipping ahead to the holidays?” There’s no denying that they have a point but what they don’t realize is that handmade gifts take more time than mass-produced items. As any elf in Santa’s workshop can tell you, this extra time and effort is part of what makes handmade gifts so special but it also means that you have to start early just to be ready in time.

For the most part, my efforts are all behind the scenes and will stay that way for a couple of months. I know that, unless you are like me and like to stockpile gifts all year round, you are more interested in stopping the ice cream man or putting on more sunscreen than in decking the halls and putting out cookies for Santa. But I am already working on preliminary designs for holiday themed items, brainstorming the various ways I am going to “decorate” my shop for the holidays, planning sales, promotions, and special events and gathering the materials I am going to need to get your gifts done and on Santa’s sleigh as quickly as possible once the holiday rush hits.

If I listen, I can just hear a hint of sleigh bells over the sound of my air conditioner and that’s just fine by me!

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

