Bookish Back to School Style Guide

In my last post, I talked about how to create the ultimate book lover’s dorm room. Today, your Back to School fashion gets a shot of literary chic style with book inspired clothing, jewelry, and accessories.

Bookish T-Shirts: The staple of most college students’ wardrobes, a t-shirt is a great way of showing off the books and authors you love. You can find some amazing literary t-shirts from the Literary Gift Company, Out Of Print, and Lithographs but I am partial to the great shirts made by indie artists on Etsy, including:

Literary Shirts(From left to right: Pride and Prejudice shirt by Storiarts, Ladies of Literature shirt by BoredWalk and Oscar Wilde shirt by The Mighty Squirm)

You should also check out these  cool jersey t-shirts for your favorite literary characters by Novel-T Shirts, especially the Bartleby the Scrivener shirt – unless you prefer not to.

 

Putting your best foot forward: I am not one of those Carrie Bradshaw – like women who have a million pairs of shoes but I am totally obsessed with these literary flats by Lead Foot Lucy. Perfect for fiction loving fastionistas, these shoes would be super cute with a little black dress to wear to parties or on dates and would also look fabulous with your favorite pair of jeans and a sweater!

Literary Shoes

Les Mis and Catcher in the Rye Flats by Lead Foot Lucy

See also: these adorable Library Due Card Canvas Sneakers, these Game of Thrones Sigil shoes and these comfy – looking Hobbit shoes for when your walk to Freshmen Seminar seems as long as the trek to Mount Doom.

 

Poe Hoodie

Poe Hoodie by Binary Winter Press

Literary Layers: Getting to class, grabbing dinner, clubs and activities, and hanging out with friends will most likely involve walking outdoors in all sorts of weather. Plus dorm rooms, classrooms, and libraries can be drafty, so it’s always a good idea to have some layers to throw on if you get chilly. Fortunately, with these great bookish hoodies, scarves, and gloves, you can be comfortable and express your love of literature at the same time.

My Tell Tale Heart skips a beat for this insanely cool Edgar Allan Poe Raven Hoodie. Check out the Binary Winter Press shop on Etsy to see this Poe design on t-shirts, a tie, and a scarf. Too cool!

 

Wuthering Heights Fingerless Gloves by Storiarts

Trust me, fingerless gloves will come in handy (if you pardon the pun) during all sorts of outdoor events and activities and for taking notes in a chilly classroom. I will be sure to get a pair of these Wuthering Heights gloves for myself when I head back to grad school in the Spring. And while I am in the Storiarts Etsy shop, I just know I won’t be able to resist getting one (or more) of their to-die for bookish scarves!

 

Speaking of literary scarves, you HAVE to check out  the Nerd Alert Creations Etsy Shop. I seriously cannot be trusted to browse this shop with a credit card in hand. I would be sure to spend my rent money on amazingly bookish scarves and skits like these:

Literary Skirt and Scarves by Nerd Alert Creations

Literary Skirt and Scarves by Nerd Alert Creations

 

It’s in the bag: One of Novel Creations’ book purses would be the perfect bookish accessory for coffee with the cute boy from your Shakespeare 101 class, hanging out with friends at the Student Center, book readings at the college bookstore or the English departments latest mixer event.

Novel Creations Book Boxes(From left to right: The Great Gatsby Book Purse, Game of Thrones Book Purse,
and The Hobbit Book Purse by Novel Creations)

 

But for lugging your notes and textbooks back and forth to class and to study sessions at the library, I love these literary messenger bags from Bag Chemistry.

Bag Chemistry Messenger Bags(From left  to right, Bag Chemistry Messenger Bags inspired by:
Sherlock Holmes, Game of Thrones, and Harry Potter)

 

Bookish Bling: And last, but certainly not least, we have book and poetry-inspired literary jewelry. Of course, I am partial to the jewelry from a little Etsy shop called Ciarrai Studios, (all of which is 15% off right now as part of my Back to School sale!)  But I am forced to admit that there are some other artists on Etsy making some lovely literary jewelry too. Check out some of my favorites here:

 Bookish Bling(Top Left: Library Card Catalog Cuff by Accessoreads, Top Right: Oscar Wilde Book Page Necklace by Ciarrai Studios,  Bottom: To Kill a Mockingbird Adjustable Ring and E. E. Cummings Poetry Pendant by Ciarrai Studios, Alice in Wonderland Leather Wrap Bracelet by  C Johanneson)

Well there you have it! I hope you found some wonderfully bookish clothing and accessories to add to your back to school wardrobe and that you have a great year at school!

If you haven’t already,  check out part 1 of my Back to School blog series: Must Haves for the Book Lover’s Dorm Room.

And don’t forget to shop my Back to School Sale with great handmade literary jewelry available for 15% off.

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Blog Posts, Books and Literature and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bookish Back to School Style Guide

  1. Oh my! I adore these amazing gems! Thank you so much for sharing! This is a real girl’s type of shopping!!

  2. Ok, clearly we have the same brain. I posted about this as well: Back to school products for book lovers.

  3. Ciarrai says:

    I was just reading your back to school post! Lol. I guess great minds really do think alike. Now if you did a post on fictional teachers, it will just get weird….

Leave a Reply

