Poem – A – Day: The Land of Nod

Yesterday, instead of posting my poem of the day, I got distracted and talked into doing an impromptu photo shoot of tiny kitties before the two oldest kittens went to their new home. But I think you will forgive me for neglecting my blogging duties when I show you this:

mpSleepyDSC_0511

(Why, yes I do watch the Big Bang Theory.  Why do you ask?)

Anyway, here is yesterday’s poem of the day. I will be posting today’s later on in the day.

The Land of Nod
By Robert Louis Stevenson

From breakfast on through all the day
At home among my friends I stay,
But every night I go abroad
Afar into the land of Nod.

All by myself I have to go,
With none to tell me what to do —
All alone beside the streams
And up the mountain-sides of dreams.

The strangest things are there for me,
Both things to eat and things to see,
And many frightening sights abroad
Till morning in the land of Nod.

Try as I like to find the way,
I never can get back by day,
Nor can remember plain and clear
The curious music that I hear.

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Being Social and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Poem – A – Day: The Land of Nod

  1. Ha ha Cute! Love Big Bang Theory 🙂
    -Jen

  2. Ciarrai says:

    Thanks. I think Sheldon would approve of this picture even if neither cat is particularly zazzy.

Leave a comment