A New Partnership

MarcGunn-FullKiltAutoharpToday, I want to introduce you to a good friend of mine, Celtic musician and podcaster, Marc Gunn. I met Marc when I was in college working on my undergraduate degree at Stony Brook University. Back then I worked for a science fiction convention, called I-CON. Among other things, I was responsible for arranging and running all the performing arts programming at the yearly convention, including a big Cabaret. I booked Marc (then one half of the Celtic music duo, the Brobdingnagian Bards) to come and perform one year. He instantly became one of my all-time favorite performers and one of my all-time favorite people.

Since then, Marc has gone solo and travels around to Renaissance Fairs and Sci-Fi conventions, performing Celtic music,  everything from traditional ballads and folk songs to geeky drinking songs inspired by Star Wars, Lord of the Rings, and Joss Whedon’s Firefly. He even recorded an album of Irish Drinking Songs for Cat Lovers! He is fun, funny, charming, and talented which is why I never miss an opportunity to see one of his shows and why I strongly recommend you check him out here  and on Facebook.

The reason why I am telling you all this, besides the fact that I think that Marc is wonderful and everyone should know about him, is that Marc and I have gotten together to develop a series of Irish Drinking Song Pendants, (great for St. Patrick’s Day), inspired by some of his most popular songs. I have put together 6 different designs, including:

  • Gunn Runners: The official name for Marc Gunn fans
  • Old Dun Cow – Featuring lyrics from the traditional (and hilarious) Irish Drinking Song
  • Monahan Mudder’s Milk – A Browncoat Drinking Song inspired by Joss Whedon’s gone-too-soon science fiction show, Firefly
  • Lord of the Pounce – An Irish Drinking Song for Cat Lovers
  • Don’t Go Drinking with Hobbits – Inspired by Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings
  • Soul of a Harper – a gorgeous Irish ballad

Irish Drinking Song Pendants

You can get your Marc Gunn Irish Drinking Song Pendant either at my Etsy Shop, Ciarrai Studios or through Marc. And while you are at it, check out Dragonpress Graphics, home of artist Nikki O’Shea who does an entire comic series based on the fictional adventures of the Brobdingnagian Bards, along with some amazing fantasy / anime styled prints and graphite illustrations.

About Ciarrai

Hi. My name is Kerry but here online I tend to go by the Gaelic version of my name, Ciarrai. I am a woman in my mid-30's who lives on Long Island, NY, with my husband, Rob, several guitars, a Nikon D40, more yarn, beads and books than I care to admit to and a cat who has a million nicknames and quite a few theme songs. I have a B.A. in Psychology and have recently returned to college to pursue a teaching degree so that I can eventually get a job as a High School English teacher. In addition to my major obsessions (Reading, Beading, Knitting, Music and Photography), I also enjoy playing Board Games, going to Renaissance Faires, Museums and Broadway Musicals.
This entry was posted in Announcements, Products and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to A New Partnership

  1. Pingback: Getting Ready for St. Patrick’s Day | Ciarrai Studios

Leave a comment